Facebook Twitter 

Silicon Valley Intro to Judaism 2016-2017 / 5777

Silicon Valley Intro to Judaism

Syllabus

This course will present an overview of the major aspects of Judaism, including practice, belief, and history.  Students will be exposed to Jewish thought and practice through lectures, class discussions, and readings.  Because Judaism is not something that can be fully understood from books and lectures, there will be several assignments and activities designed to give participants "real-world" Jewish experiences.

This class is being taught by five Rabbis, from four different synagogues as well as the Center for Jewish Life & Learning at the Addison-Penzak Jewish Community Center.  This will give you exposure to a variety of approaches to Judaism.  Please note that the location of the class will change according to who is teaching on that particular night.  All teachers and locations are listed on the syllabus.

This course is open to Jews and non-Jews, those seeking to convert to Judaism, as well as those who are interested in learning more.  Conversion candidates should meet with their sponsoring Rabbi for additional requirements.

Class will begin at 7:00 pm with a 30 minute Introduction to Hebrew class, taught by Mike Maiten, followed by a 90 minute class on that week’s topics.

Try to attend class each week.  If you know that you are going to be absent, please inform Lacy McCoy at (408) 357-7413 or email [email protected].

Course Schedule
Tuesdays
7:00 pm

November 1 APJCC
November 8 APJCC
November 15 Congregation Beth David
November 29 Congregation Beth David
December 6 Congregation Shir Hadash
December 13 Congregation Shir Hadash
January 10 Temple Emanu-El
January 10 Temple Emanu-El
January 24 Congregation Shir Hadash
January 31 Congregation Shir Hadash
February 7 Congregation Sinai
February 14 Congregation Sinai
February 21 Class Not in Session
February 28 Congregation Beth David
March 7 Congregation Beth David
March14 Congregation Beth David
March 21 APJCC
March 28 Temple Emanu-El
April 4 APJCC
April 11 Passover: Class Not in Session
April 18 Passover: Class Not in Session
April 25 Congregation Shir Hadash
May 2 Congregation Sinai
May 9 APJCC

 

Date and Time: 
Repeats every week until Tue May 09 2017 except Tue Nov 22 2016, Tue Dec 20 2016, Tue Dec 27 2016, Tue Jan 03 2017, Tue Feb 21 2017, Tue Apr 11 2017, Tue Apr 18 2017.
Tuesday, November 1, 2016 -
7:00pm to 9:00pm
Tuesday, November 8, 2016 -
7:00pm to 9:00pm
Tuesday, November 15, 2016 -
7:00pm to 9:00pm
Tuesday, November 29, 2016 -
7:00pm to 9:00pm
Tuesday, December 6, 2016 -
7:00pm to 9:00pm
Tuesday, December 13, 2016 -
7:00pm to 9:00pm
Tuesday, January 10, 2017 -
7:00pm to 9:00pm
Tuesday, January 17, 2017 -
7:00pm to 9:00pm
Tuesday, January 24, 2017 -
7:00pm to 9:00pm
Tuesday, January 31, 2017 -
7:00pm to 9:00pm
Tuesday, February 7, 2017 -
7:00pm to 9:00pm
Tuesday, February 14, 2017 -
7:00pm to 9:00pm
Tuesday, February 28, 2017 -
7:00pm to 9:00pm
Tuesday, March 7, 2017 -
7:00pm to 9:00pm
Tuesday, March 14, 2017 -
7:00pm to 9:00pm
Tuesday, March 21, 2017 -
7:00pm to 9:00pm
Tuesday, March 28, 2017 -
7:00pm to 9:00pm
Tuesday, April 4, 2017 -
7:00pm to 9:00pm
Tuesday, April 25, 2017 -
7:00pm to 9:00pm
Tuesday, May 2, 2017 -
7:00pm to 9:00pm
Tuesday, May 9, 2017 -
7:00pm to 9:00pm